About the Scholarship

The scholarship is awarded by the American Planning Association, an organization with over 40,000 members from 100+ countries. They provide leadership in the development of vital communities for all by advancing excelling in planning, promoting education and resident empowerment. This scholarship was established to honor Charles Abrams, by his widow and a number of his colleagues, awarded to a student who is enrolled in a graduate planning program leading to a master's degree. This program is designed to aid students who will pursue careers as practicing planners.


How to apply for the scholarship?

  • The applicant should complete the application which can be found on the American Planning Association site. 

  • Along with the application, the applicant should also submit a nomination letter by his/her department chair, an essay discussing the topics listed in the application, acceptance letter to an eligible program, academic transcripts, financial aid application, copy of GRE scores, and FAFSA. 


How much the scholarship award amounts to?

  • The award amounts to $2,000 yearly and is non-renewable. 

  • One award is offered yearly.

Deadline Information

The deadline date is set for June 20

Eligibility Criteria

  • You'll have to be the legally recognized citizen of the United States citizen and have been accepted into the graduating planning program.

  • A student has to demonstrate the need for financial assistance as determined by the review of the FAFSA application.

  • A letter of recommendation, financial aid application, official transcripts, and official GRE scores are required.

  • A student must attend Columbia University, Harvard University, MIT, New School University, or the University of Pennsylvania.

Related Scholarships