About the Scholarship

The scholarship is awarded by the American Library Association, which is said to be the oldest and largest library association in the world. It works to expand library services in America and to promote the profession of librarianship.

The Christopher Hoy/ERT Scholarship, named after a long time ALA staff member, is a scholarship given out yearly to an American or Canadian citizen or permanent resident, who is pursuing an MLS degree in an ALA-accredited program. There are three major factors that are considered while awarding these scholarships: academic performance, leadership qualities and commitment to a career in librarianship.


How to apply for this scholarship?

  • The applicant must complete the online application which is available on the American Library Association site

  • Along with the application, the applicant must also submit three references and his/her official academic transcripts.

  • The application along with the other required documents must be submitted before the deadline date.

How much the scholarship award amounts to?

  • The award amounts to $5,000 per year and is non-renewable

  • One award is offered per year.

Deadline Information 

The deadline date is set for March 1, 2020

Eligibility Criteria

  • The applicant must be a U.S. or Canadian citizen or permanent resident.

  • Must major in library science.

  • Must have earned no more than 12 semester hours toward a MLS/MLIS/MIS degree prior to June 1 of the year that the scholarship is awarded.

Scholarships you may be interested in

Walmart Scholarship

Courage to Grow Scholarship

American Dream Scholarship

Stars Scholarship

Burger King Scholarship

Dell Scholarship

Taco Bell Scholarship

Florida Bright Futures Scholarship

Other Scholarships

Scholarships for High School Seniors

Merit Scholarships

Easy Scholarships

Scholarships for Hispanics

Undergraduate Scholarships

Scholarships for High School Students

For more Scholarships, you can visit: Scholarships for College Students

Related Scholarships