About the Scholarship

Edmond A. Metzger Scholarship is accredited by the American Radio Relay League (ARRL) Foundation, Inc. The foundation is the national association for Amateur Radio in the US. ARRL is a noncommercial organization of radio amateurs.

The Edmond A. Metzger Scholarship is available for students who have shown an interest in promoting amateur radio. Applicants must have an active license of general class or higher, must reside in the ARRL Central Division (IL, IN, WI).

What are the procedures to be followed while applying for this scholarship?

  • Students must demonstrate their financial need and interest in promoting the Amateur Radio Service.

  • A current academic transcript is to be scanned in pdf format is to be submitted on the mentioned e-mail in the application form.

  • The candidates are educated to present their FAFSA application to get this award.

  • Students must provide personal information for one educational reference, one character reference, and one social reference on the online application.

Edmond A. Metzger Scholarship award amounts to

  • This scholarship provides $500 annually based on the students meeting their requirements which is non-renewable.

  • The total number of awards offered by this scholarship is limited to one candidate each year, depending on the availability of funds.

Deadline info

The applications are to be presented before the end of December 31, 2020. Understudies are informed to present their grant application, and other requirements are to be submitted before the due date. Applications and other information are accessible online on the American Radio Relay League (ARRL) Foundation, Inc. website.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Must be a member of ARRL.

  • Must major in electrical engineering.

  • Must attend a college/university located in the ARRL Central Division area (IL, IN, WI).

  • Must be a licensed radio amateur (any class license).

  • Must be pursuing a bachelor's degree or higher.

  • Must reside in the area of the ARRL Central Division (IL, IN, WI).

  • This award is for international and U.S. students

Related Scholarships