About the Scholarship

Maryland Delegate Scholarship is sponsored by the Maryland Higher Education Commission. The award is meant to assist the students who plan to enroll in credit-bearing coursework leading to a vocational certificate, professional courses, or an Associate's Degree, or in a sequence of credit or non-credit courses that lead to licensure or certification, or in a registered apprenticeship program at a Maryland community college.

How to apply for the scholarship?

  • Applications are available on the official website Maryland Higher Education Commission and all the applicants must access the online application in order to apply for this scholarship.

  • To demonstrate the financial status of an individual's family, each applicant must fill and submit FAFSA forms to the concerned financial aid department.
  • A student must submit the Official scorecards of ACT/SAT to demonstrate the completion of the graduation semester as well as academic performance.

  • A student must submit the current official transcript of his or her college or institution.

The award amount of scholarship:

  • The scholarship award amount ranges from $200 to $11,250 available to full-time students per year based on the number of applicants applied for this award and the amount of funding available. 

  • The award amount is non-renewable.

Deadline Information:

The deadline for the scholarship is the 1st of March 2020.

Eligibility Criteria

  • The students who applied for this scholarship must be a current high school senior or current degree-seeking undergraduate or graduate student.

  • He/she must reside in Maryland(dependent student's parents must also be residents of Maryland.)

  • The applicant must be a resident of the U.S.

  • The recipient must be enrolled at a two- or four-year Maryland postsecondary institution.

  • A candidate must be enrolled in a program of study currently experiencing a statewide and regional workforce need and plan on working in the specific career/occupational programs upon graduation. Current eligible fields include the following: child development or early childhood education human services, teacher education nursing, physical therapy, physical therapy assistant, occupational therapy, occupational therapy assistant, law, social work, public service fields.