About the Scholarship

The scholarship is awarded by the American Library Association, which is the oldest and largest library association in the world. It works to expand library services in America and to promote the profession of librarianship. The Peter Lyman Memorial/SAGE Scholarship in New Media was created to honor Peter Lyman who was a former university librarian and a professor. The scholarship supports a student in an ALA-accredited master's program in Library and Information Studies and pursuing a specialty in New Media. The factors that are considered during selection are academic performance, leadership qualities and commitment to a career in librarianship.

How to apply for the scholarship?

  • The applicant must complete the application which can be found on the American Library Association site.

  • Along with the application, the applicant must also submit three references, official academic transcripts, and FAFSA.

How much the scholarship award amounts to?

  • The award amounts to $2,500 per year and is non-renewable.


  •  One award is offered per year.




Deadline Information

The deadline date is set for March 1, 2020



Eligibility Criteria

  • The applicant must be the U.S. or Canadian citizen or permanent resident.

  • Must not have completed more than 12 semester hours or one-third of the required semester hours towards MLS/MLIS/MIS prior to June 1 of the year awarded.

  • Must be pursuing studies in library science with a specialty in new media.


Scholarships you may be interested in

Walmart Scholarship

Courage to Grow Scholarship

American Dream Scholarship

Stars Scholarship

Burger King Scholarship

Dell Scholarship

Taco Bell Scholarship

Florida Bright Futures Scholarship

Other Scholarships

Scholarships for High School Seniors

Merit Scholarships

Easy Scholarships

Scholarships for Hispanics

Undergraduate Scholarships

Scholarships for High School Students

For more, you can visit: College Scholarships

Related Scholarships