National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS)

National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences is the accrediting agency for clinical lab sciences programs and related health care professions. To know more, read this blog.

Updated by Ankita Paul on 26th February 2020

National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Sciences (NAACLS)

The National Accrediting Agency for Clinical Laboratory Science is focused on being the global office for certification and endorsement of training programs in the clinical laboratory sciences and related health care callings. NAACLS gives authority in encouraging creative methodologies and effectively underpins helpful endeavors with different offices.

It was established in 1936 and is certified by the Board of Certification of the American Society of Clinical Pathologists (ASCP). Having its head office in Washington, D.C., getting approved by the Council for Higher Education Accreditation (CHEA).

NAACLS, in a joint effort with its expert associations, gives exhaustive administrations including program accreditation, program endorsement, counsel, and training. NAACLS gives these services for instructive administrations, students, businesses, and medicinal patients. 

Guiding Values under the organization

NAACLS shows the sense of duty regarding administration by setting measures for training programs of high caliber in clinical lab sciences and related health profession. NAACLS will keep on being receptive to the necessities of the general population and the medicinal services.

Colleges and Universities under this accreditation

Arkansas State University

Auburn University of Montgomery
Texas Southern University The University of Texas at Austin
Texas A&M University Tarleton State University

Decision Making Bodies of the agency

The decision making bodies included in this accrediting agency is the supreme people who get reported by the committees on the accreditation matters. These people come from various medical backgrounds and proficient experiences. They comprise of a president, vice-president, secretary, treasurer, representatives from the peer organizations and a public member.

The various committees which also play part in this include-

  • Doctoral review Committee

  • Review Committee for Accredited Programs

  • Programs Approval Review Committee

  • NAACLS Staff.


NAACLS is the certifying body that authorizes clinical health sciences programs and insists on serving the human community through its high-quality standards. It is the global authorizing office that believes in setting standards and developing the instructive programs.