About the Scholarship

M.F.K. Fisher Scholarship is accredited by the Culinary Institute of America. The (CIA) was formed in the year 1946, this organization offers bachelor’s degrees in applied food studies, culinary science, food business management, and hospitality management; associate degrees in culinary arts and baking and pastry arts; executive education; certificate programs; and courses for professionals and enthusiasts. The Culinary Institute of America (CIA) is a private, not-for-profit college dedicated to providing the world's best professional culinary education. This scholarship aims to honor the accomplishments of MFK Fisher and to showcase her contributions to gastronomy.

How to apply for M.F.K. Fisher Scholarship

  • The student has to complete Free Application for Federal Student Aid (FAFSA) to be able to apply or receive these financial aids.

  • Students who are receiving other housing specific award, or if the applicant is an RA may not be eligible for this grant.

  • The students must submit with an essay of 500 to 700 words which includes about the memory of food such as your first cooking experience, the first meal you prepared, a family holiday food tradition, or a childhood recollection of food.

  • Each applicant must be planning to apply or have already applied for admission to the CIA


M.F.K. Fisher Scholarship amounts to

  • This scholarship provides $2000 annually which is a one time award and is nonrenewable. 

  • A total of 4 awards are offered each year by this scholarship.


Deadline information

This scholarship deadlines by the end of December 15, 2020.

Scholarship applications are available online from the Culinary Institute of America (CIA) website


Eligibility Criteria

  • A high school diploma or GED credential
  • One character letter of recommendation is required. It should be from an employer, teacher, or professional colleague either within or outside the foodservice industry

Related Scholarships