About the Scholarship

The scholarship is awarded by the American Library Association, which is the oldest and largest library association in the world. It works to expand library services in America and to promote the profession of librarianship. The Miriam Hornback Scholarship, which was named after a long-time ALA staff member, is awarded every year to an ALA or library support staffer who is pursuing an MLS degree in an ALA-accredited program. The factors that are considered during selection are academic performance, leadership potential, and commitment to a career in librarianship.

How to apply for the scholarship?

  •  The applicant must complete an application which can be found on the American Library Association site.

  • Along with the applicant, the applicant must also provide three references,  official academic transcripts and FAFSA befre the deadline date.

How much the scholarship award amounts to?

  • The award amounts to $3,000 per year and is non-renewable

  • One award is offered per year.

Deadline Information

The deadline date is set for March 1, 2020

Eligibility Criteria

  • The applicant must be a U.S. or Canadian citizen or permanent resident.

  • Must be working in a library as part of the support staff.

  • Must pursue an MLS/MLIS/MIS degree.

Scholarships you may be interested in

Walmart Scholarship

Courage to Grow Scholarship

American Dream Scholarship

Stars Scholarship

Burger King Scholarship

Dell Scholarship

Taco Bell Scholarship

Florida Bright Futures Scholarship

Other Scholarships

Scholarships for High School Seniors

Merit Scholarships

Easy Scholarships

Scholarships for Hispanics

Undergraduate Scholarships

Scholarships for High School Students

For more, you can visit: College Scholarships

Related Scholarships