About the Scholarship

The Writers' Square scholarship program is a division of the Hakka Foundation, a non-profit organization focusing on education and cultural services. Essays are judged on the bases of comprehension, organization, creativity, writing, and conclusion. 

How to Apply?

  • Entry information is available on the Writers' Square website. To enter the competition, each student must write an essay on the current session's topic.

  • Essays may be written in English or Chinese. Students may only submit one entry per session for each language.

  • Essays submitted during one session may not be submitted in subsequent sessions. Word limits are first through sixth-grade students, 500 words, and seventh through twelfth-grade students is 1,000 words, undergraduate and graduate students is 1,500 words. Each student must complete an online entry form. 

Award Amount :

The scholarship award amounts to $1000 available to many applicants per academic year.

Prizes are awarded as follows:

  • first place in division 1, $500; first place in division 2, $700; first place in division 3, $1,000; second place in division 1, $300; second place in division 2, $500; second place in division 3, $700; third place in division 1, $200; third place in division 2, $300; third place in division 3, $500; honorable mention in division 1, $100; honorable mention in division 2, $200; honorable mention in division 3, $300.

Deadline Information:

The deadline date for this scholarship is on 31st March 2020. Hence all applicants must submit the official transcripts on or before the given deadline date.

Eligibility Criteria

  • An applicant must be enrolled in first grade through twelfth grade, or be an undergraduate or graduate student.

  • This award is applicable for international and U.S. students.

Related Scholarships